Halfway through the year and June is really winning the game with all the great books lined up to release every week. From mystery to fantasy, there’s everything! Authors like Alex Michaelides and Rajani LaRocca, who have already given gems like The Silent Patient and Red White and Whole respectively, are returning with shiny new novels. Debut authors like Sasha and Sarena Nanua are stepping in with a magical Indian-inspired fantasy; and some books like Blood Like Magic has already pulled in fans of teen witches and high stakes romance. Here are ten of the best books releasing in the week of June 15, 2021. ✨

NAVIGATE:

01. Much Ado About Baseball by Rajani LaRocca
02. Very Sincerely Yours by Kerry Winfrey
03. Blood Like Magic by Liselle Sambury
04. The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels by India Holton
05. Sisters of the Snake by Sasha & Sarena Nanua
06. The Summer of Lost Letters by Alison Parr
07. Don’t Hate the Player by Alexis Nedd
08. Broken Web by Lori M. Lee
09. Rea and the Blood of the Nectar by Payal Doshi
10. The Maidens by Alex Michaelides

This blog post may contain affiliate links. To know more about them, please read my disclaimer.

Much Ado About Baseball by Rajani LaRocca

As a companion novel to Midsummer’s Mayhem, this middle grade contemporary is bound to feature food and magic, but the idea of mystical snacks and two math competition rivals coming together seems more than a sweet mayhem. When a booklet of math puzzles claiming to reveal the “ultimate answer” arrives, Trish and Ben start solving them and the summer baseball team —which they’re both a part of— is seen to have its luck refilled. A mix of sports and numbers will be the perfect fuel to navigate friendship and family dynamics. 

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop US | Amazon IN

Very Sincerely Yours by Kerry Winfrey

Teddy is thirty and working at a vintage toy store; the only joy after being dumped by her longtime boyfriend is the local children’s show, hosted by the cute Everett. After finding the courage to write to him, she awaits his sound advice —like the many children on the show—because he does seem like he has everything figured out. But for Everett, there’s something missing from his life despite great friends and a dream job. So when they continue writing to each other, without meeting, there’s something waiting to happen when their worlds collide in this adult romance.

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop US | Amazon IN

Blood Like Magic by Liselle Sambury

Calling is a trial every witch must pass in order to come into their powers, and Voya didn’t expect to fail. When she’s given a second chance by her ancestor, the task is as horrifying as the prospect of every witch in her family being stripped of their magic should she fail again —to kill her first love. Now she must find a perfect guy and a generic matchmaking program should work; but when the infuriating Luc wants nothing to do with her, she’s caught between morality and duty. The first in a dark urban fantasy series, this debut brings magic through a Trinidadian-Canadian witch.

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop UK | Amazon IN

The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels by India Holton

Cecilia is an ideal Victorian lady but she’s also a thief. Like others in the Wisteria Society crime sorority, she flies through England while blackmailing and acquiring treasures by interesting means. When Ned, an assassin sometimes, is smitten with Cecilia from the moment they meet, it’s an unfortunate event because he’s under direct orders to kill her. His employer, who hates every presumptuous woman, is determined. But both men have underestimated a woman and now, she’s set to prove that she’s as much of a scoundrel as the rest of them in this historical romance..

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop US | Amazon IN

Sisters of the Snake by Sasha and Sarena Nanua

In a world where danger lurks and an impending war is fast approaching, Rani, the princess, longs to escape her gilded cage of responsibilities and familial pressure while Ria, the street urchin, simply wants to survive by crossing the borders. But when these unmistakably identical royal and orphan’s lives collide, a deal has to be struck to switch places before this world full of dark magic, hidden temples, and dark prophecies fall to ruin. A debut Indian-inspired young adult fantasy said to be perfect for fans of The Crown’s Game and The Tiger at Midnight.

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop UK | Amazon IN

The Summer of Lost Letters by Allison Parr

Abby isn’t exactly looking forward to the summer before her senior year; she’s just broken up with her boyfriend and all her friends are in different directions. But maybe an adventure of her own might make it special: discovering her grandmother’s past through the love letters that show up one day, along with the rest of Abby’s recently deceased grandmother’s possessions. But when Edward’s —the man who wrote these letters— handsome grandson wants to stop her, things get complicated in this sweet romance that follows a teen uncovering her grandmother’s secrets, her life during WWII.

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop UK | Amazon IN

Don’t Hate the Player by Alexis Nedd

Emilia is a field hockey star with a popular boyfriend and a mother obsessed with her academic future. But she’s also the only female member of a highly competitive e-sports team. She has mastered the art of keeping her two worlds thriving —and separate. When a major e-sports tournament comes to her city, Emilia is determined to prove herself to the gaming community, the male-dominated community. But when Jake, a member of the rival team, recognizes her, something is waiting to unfold in this sweet and charming young adult romance.

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop UK

Broken Web by Lori M. Lee

A sequel to Forest of Souls, this epic tale of destiny and sisterhood is here to follow Sirscha again after the Soulless has woken from his centuries-long imprisonment. As she journeys east along with her allies, and continues to worry about her truth —one that will bring her execution if discovered— she’s determined to uncover what or who the shaman, the Soulless, is channelling his magic through. With a war brewing in the east and the shaman waiting in the west, Sirscha must question who her real enemies are in this fantasy that’s perfect for fans of The Witcher.

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop UK | Amazon IN

Rea and the Blood of the Nectar by Payal Doshi

Rea and Rohan are turning twelve, and on the night of the twins’ birthday, a big fight pulls them apart. It’s four in the morning and Rohan is nowhere to be found. Unwilling to give up on her brother, Rea, along with her friend Leela, visits a fortune teller whose powers of divination guide them to a secret quest —into an otherworldly realm. Rea must solve clues to rescue Rohan, against the evil queen of this land. Set in Darjeeling, India, this debut middle grade fantasy is perfect for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia.

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop US | Amazon IN

The Maidens by Alex Michaelides

Mariana is a brilliant but troubled group therapist who becomes fixated on The Maidens —a secret society of female students— when one member is found murdered in Cambridge. Mariana, having been a student at the university herself, suspects that behind the ancient traditions lies something sinister. And she’s convinced that Edward Fosca, the untouchable, handsome, charismatic Greek Tragedy professor is guilty. When another body is found, her obsession spirals and the stakes rise in this newest suspense thriller by the author of The Silent Patient.  

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop US | Amazon IN

what book are you most excited for this week? 💛

One thought on “10 Best New Books Releasing This Week: June 15, 2021

  1. to be quite honest I haven’t really been keeping up with new releases, but The Box in the Woods by Maureen Johnson just came out (standalone followup to the Truly Devious trilogy) which I’m really excited to start! and The Summer of Letters looks right up my alley with lots of tropes I like.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.