The Agathas by Kathleen Glasgow & Liz Lawson
(Delacorte Press, May 03)

Alice’s five-day disappearance used to be the biggest scandal in Castle Cove—until her ex-boyfriend is accused of murdering his new girlfriend, and Alice must pair up with her tutor to clear his name by using the wisdom of the mystery queen herself. Karen M. McManus, New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying, has praised this to be “part Agatha Christie, part Veronica Mars, and completely entertaining”.

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop UK

Hollow Fires by Samira Ahmed
(Little, Brown, May 10)

Safiya has learned as editor of her school newspaper that personal biases shouldn’t affect the story. But all that changes when she finds the body of a murdered boy. A teacher mistook Jawad’s cosplay jetpack for a bomb, which got him labelled as a terrorist and eventually killed. Driven by Jawad’s haunting voice, Safiya now seeks to tell the whole truth in this novel perfect for fans of Sadie and Dear Martin.

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop UK 

Hide by Kiersten White
(Del Rey, May 24)

A high-stakes hide-and-seek competition turns deadly in this dark supernatural thriller. The challenge is to spend a week hiding in an abandoned amusement park and not get caught. The prize is enough money to change everything. But as people around begin disappearing one by one, the competition turns more sinister in this fiction with elements of Cabin in the Woods and The Hunger Games.

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop UK

Family of Liars by E. Lockhart
(Delacorte Press, May 03)

A harrowing and haunting but also a humorous novel about resembling the things that make us who we are and finding the way home again. A man wakes up in an unknown landscape, injured and alone. He encounters an old man, a crow, and a boy — and realises that nothing is what he thought it was, neither the present nor the past.

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop UK

The Many Half-Lived Lives of Sam Sylvester by Maya MacGregor (Astra Young Readers, May 03)

A nonbinary teen with autism realises they must not only solve a 30-year-old mystery but also face the demons lurking in their past. Sam has long collected stories of half-lived lives — of kids who died before they turned nineteen. Now as his nineteenth birthday approaches, he can’t resist investigating one of these suspicious deaths.

Buy the book: Amazon US | Bookshop UK

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.